outsider-punk noise experimental rock two-piece from Aotearoa New Zealand

Review: It’s All Over : Yeah I Know It Sucks – Netherlands

Thank you Yeah I Know It Sucks for the review! YIKIS is a good blog with loads of interesting finds there, worth exploring.

Posted April 8, 2016

Finally I’m back to stay for good at YIKIS. After a hiatus because of house moving, cleaning up an old house, diverse other stuff, I’m ready to review again.

I’ll mainly focus myself on CD and cassette releases. I’ve got a good setup to listen and review your releases with full dedication (it bassicly means I can turn the volume up to 11).

First review is by the band Mr Sterile Assembly. They are a duo that make very very very bassheavy band music. A lot of the times the bass just overwhelms you in such a way that you’re almost hypnotized by it. Differianting between Ska rhythms and freejazz mumbojumbo it really lays the layer for most of the tracks.

The singing on the tracks reminds me of Anne Clark spoken word and Blondie tunes on the female vocal part. The male sings like a angry butcher that will come after you if you don’t do as he tells you. Overall teh singing floats between Atari Teenage Riot angst screaming and the spoken words of the audiobooks you find over at the LibriVox page.

Back to the other sounds. The drumming on this release is done with great precission and is coherent with the bass and the singing. What I’m trying to say is that a lot of practicing, recording, writing and other production values a very high standard.

You can listen to this album on bandcamp, buy it there in digital format, but I strongly recommend to buy it on CD. The package alone is worth the money. It’s very sturdy and comes with a lot of info. It even has the lyrics. And I bet they will put in a postcard with a personal ‘thank you!’ note in it.

WP_20160408_12_58_39_Pro.jpg

Put the in your CD player at home, turn up the volume and let yourself be taken away by the music. You’ll probably find yourself building a private moshpit, like I did!

Link

Leave a Reply

