outsider-punk noise experimental rock two-piece from Aotearoa New Zealand

Stella

Suhartono - Wayang puppet, circa 1980

Suhartono - Wayang puppet, circa 1980

My daughter’s with my mother
In my country far away
Gone from home for two years
In search of better pay
I missed her first and second
I might be home when she turns four
And I can not see my star shine
While here in Singapore

What similarity exists
Between this city and my home?
I’m here watching others thrive
While I miss my child grow
I left for hope and currency
From the struggle of being poor
And I can not see my star shine
While here in Singapore

The current of this commerce
Makes me glean across the border
I tell myself it’s normal
And I do it for my daughter
Yet it’s hard to reconcile
To work and work for barely more
And I can not see my Stella shine
While here in Singapore

This video filmed on location just south of Blitar, Java by the Ni Kita Jibril Collective while the mr sterile Assembly was on tour July 2011.

Clicking this link will take you to the tour diary entry.

Leave a Reply

