outsider-punk noise experimental rock two-piece from Aotearoa New Zealand

Backyard Burial – R.I.P Blaps Warmonger – Matt Hall 1975 – 2011

Blaps Warmonger -Matt Hall, legendary vocalist for the Lower Hutt grind scum group Backyard Burial, “died as a result of ferocious attack while in bed”.

Unbelievable, I saw him only a couple of weeks ago as our paths cross in our day jobs. I’ve known him for years, have seen the band play since the beginning, and am deeply shocked at this loss.

He had the most demanding stage presence, completely committed to his vocal delivery in a style that became truly his own.

The band played a few yearsago at a festival we organised called Meatwaters. A festival showcasing the best of Wellington extreme music. And they we the best in their game.

My condolences to friends, family & the band. He was a powerful performer on stage, and a grand bloke off stage. I cannot begin to imagine how difficult this time must be for Blaps immediate family.

I hope resolution comes soon.

2 responses

  1. after sharing the stage with backyard I will agree that matt’s vocals were truly something else…. he and the singer for Dial, Tali Williams were two of the only front people who genuinely made me feel like I was in the presence of something…bigger than the gig.

    I urge everyone to get a copy of their latest album and celebrate extreme music.

    RIP Cuz

    February 17, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    • mrsterile

      Hi there
      Thanks for sharing your thoughts

      And yes, Tali is in the same league. I have a fantasy to see Tali singing one day with a kick ass choir behind her, doing vocal back up to her delivery. I think it would be the most powerful thing.

      And yes, the BB albums are great, they crafted some damn fine tunes.

      ta

      February 18, 2011 at 3:48 am

Leave a Reply

